FIDE Laws of Chess 2017

The FIDE Laws of Chess 2017 was finally appoved by the 2017 FIDE Presidential Board in Athens, Greece and has been published on the FIDE website Please note that the FIDE Presidential Board has decided to make some changes in the version submitted for approval of the FIDE Congress in Baku, September 2016.

Below are the pdf version of the rules, as well as changes.



Arbiters Selected for SAJCCC 2017

The final list of arbiters for the Junior Closed are:

  1. Chief Arbiter: FA Michael Bornheim (GJM)
  2. Deputy Chief Arbiter: FA Linsy Pistorius (WP)
  3. Deputy Chief Arbiter: NA Ricardo Minnaar (WP)
  4. Arbiter: FA Marius Ferreira (GTP)
  5. Arbiter: NA Ben de Winnaar (FMB)
  6. Arbiter: FA Keith Rust (KED)
  7. Arbiter: PA Israel Tshabadira (NWP) – CHESSA
  8. Arbiter: PA Cheshni Jeena (KZN) – CHESSA

Notice to all Arbiters – January 2017

The fees for the renewal of your annual membership with the AOC has remained at R100.00 per year for 2017. Please make payment to:

The banking details:

Account name:  CHESSA ATM
Bank:  First National Bank
Account number:  62255808118
Branch code:  252645 – Menlyn Park

Please remember to put your first name and surname as reference.

Please send proof of payment to Divesh Sookdeo –

PLEASE NOTE : No tournament will be rated by CHESSA if the arbiters at that tournament was not paid up members of the AOC at the start of that tournament.

May you all have a wonderful 2017 full of good arbiter decisions

.aoc logo